Monetising without leaving the free plan

I’ve been wondering lately about how to monetise since I’m close to finishing my first apps. I can’t afford the google rates and I certainly don’t think the users I’d target would pay for it…

I’m a small subsistence farmer who’s rewilding land in the third world and in order to optimize the way I work and save time, I’m making apps such as rainfall records, rainfall catchment data (water tank levels and calculating when I next need to pump water etc), harvest records (ie I grow vanilla beans and like to keep records on each vines production to know if I’m stressing the plants or not), food forest database (basically tree/plant list on a map of the farm plus reminder list of things like I spot bananas that I think will need harvesting in a week) and a mushroom growing and tracking app.

At the very least, the apps I make have been useful to me, they’ve have helped me optimize my time and the data I collect is very useful for decision making.

Friends doing similar work have also expressed an interest and I’m hoping to raise a little cash through it to fund our native tree planting this coming rainy season.

What I’m thinking of doing… which maybe you can say is or isn’t possible (hopefully doesn’t run foul of google either) is for me to remain on the free plan and somehow create copies of the app for my friends via the URL.

I’ve done all the work to add a user email to each row and slices etc so what I was thinking of trying is have a column determine the duration that a user has been using the app (today() - the first data input). If it exceeds, say a 6 month trial period, the user cannot add more rows until a password is added. I could make a simple password generator based on a couple of letters from the users email and have an expression to determine if it’s valid. The user would need to obtain the password off me after payment?

What do you think of this idea? Is it even legal use of the free app?